Its 2014! And still January!

January 31, 2014 at 7:07 am (Uncategorized)

It’s January 31st, so if I post this today there’s still the potential of making a post a month over the year!

Currently , I’m working on a last round of edits on three short stories for a young adult book Lemorn will be releasing in February. The book is called Next Year, Things Will Be Different. I’ll be doing a cover post soon. This book has J.C. Sayer returning and introduces two authors for their first publication. (I was going to have something in it as well but writing a story and editing three others just wasn’t working in the scheduling machine. Saving that story to finish later.)

I’m also waiting for edits back on something I submitted to a gaming book. That has me very excited. I love the game and love the topic of my submission.

I’m hoping to read more this year. Last year I spent a lot if my reading time on editing. Right now I’ve got two anthologies I’m reading: Don’t Read This Book and The Ministry Protocol. The latter was part of a game related Kickstarter my group backed and I need to absorb the universe in preparation of running the game once we get it. The former is a book from Evil Hat based in the world of my first Evil Hat game, Don’t Rest Your Head. That game is still my go-to for running at conventions. No prep needed besides my carbonless copy character sheets!

Last year was a tough one. There were a lot of projects that will not see the light of day, and I lost a lot of trust in writers. I’ve learnt from the experience though, and there were some good things. I won’t dwell on the bad.

One thing I love about editing for the same author multiple times is seeing them grow. I worked with an author who hadn’t a clue how to deal with formatting dialogue. By the third book they sent me, they were doing a great job with it. I like seeing my comments turn into scenes. I love seeing the author’s work come to life.

I think in the end I edited 3 books from early draft, one nearing completion and many more shorts. It was a good year in terms of editing done. Writing on the other hand, not so much. A few things started, nothing finished. Working on my poetry collection again though.

Hoping for a better year.

Leave a Reply

